Nan’s advice on life.

“Why would I drink water when I can drink wine?!” she would exclaim on it being suggested that water might be better to drink on a hot day.

“Better to pay more for quality, than to buy cheap.” on buying items.

“If you can’t say anything nice, then better to say nothing.” on how we should treat others.

“Does she not feed you?! You must eat more!” as she ladle more food onto overflowing plate.

“Go on, just a little one for the road!” as she tops up drink.

“No! You need a straw. You can’t drink out of the can it’s common!” on the etiquette of good manners whilst drinking.

“Oh they must be hungry. They need feeding – look how skinny they are! Biscuits? Crisps?” as she raids her cupboards seeking out treats for the grandchildren.

“Shall I make some snacks? They look hungry.” then proceeds to make a full meal for the family.

“Shhhh this is between us. Buy some sweets!” as she slips some money into grandchild’s hand to much eye rolling from their parent.

“Never trust a man who doesn’t like animals.” her advice on relationships.

“You are my favourite!” she would say with a twinkle in her eye to each one of her grandchildren, when they were out of earshot of the others.

I miss my Nan but am so glad I have so many memories of her, and I hear her voice so clearly when thinking about what she would say.

Whenever I see poppies, I smile because they remind me of my Nan.

Leave a comment